28 Artists Are Painting the Walls of Koreatown Schools

Posted · Add Comment
1 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 1 Filament.io Made with Flare More Info'> 1 Flares ×

Fresh off a pretty slick redesign of the LA Public Library card, prolific street artist Shepard Fairey is now working on a 40-foot tall mural of Robert F. Kennedy in the heart of Koreatown. The mural will be the centerpiece of a huge public art and education project being held at RFK Community Schools. The group of six schools and an adjoining park occupy the site of the former Ambassador Hotel, where Kennedy was assassinated in 1968.

The Branded Arts RFK Mural Festival is now underway! Grand Reception Friday May 27th 5pm-11pm at Robert F. Kennedy Community Schools, 701 S. Catalina St. Los Angeles CA 90005 Video by Cory Ring of @chopemdownfilms Featuring: Shepard Fairey @obeygiant Mad Steez @madsteez Greg Mike @gregmike Sam Flores @samagram12 Andrew Hem @andrewhem Beau Stanton @beaustanton Charlie Edmiston @charlieedmiston Colette Miller @colettemillerwings Curiot @curiotli Cyrcle @cyrcle David Flores @davidfloresart Hueman @hueman_ James Bullough @james_bullough Jeff Soto @jeffsotoart Kenny Scharf @kennyscharf RISK @riskrock Rob Hill @robhill.art Yoskay Yamamoto @yoskayyamamoto Hebru Brantley @hebrubrantley Dallas Clayton @dallasclayton Baker’s Son @bakersson Clinton Bopp @clintonbopp James Haunt @jameshaunt Josh Everhorn @josheverhorn Never 1959 @never1959 Paige Smith @acommonname Hebru Brantley @hebrubrantley Hush @hushartist UR New York @urnewyork Woes Martin @woes Special thanks to @sugarartistsacrylic @Behrpaint @thinkspace_art @latimesevents @rebel8 #brandedartsmuralfestival #rfkmuralfestival #rfkcommunityschools #brandedarts #losangeles #lausd

A video posted by Branded Arts (@brandedarts) on May 24, 2016 at 9:40pm PDT

All told, 28 artists will participate in the Branded Arts RFK Mural Festival, which kicked off Monday. The schools’ very white-walled campus will soon be adorned with works by prominent muralists from around the world, while students will be able to participate in workshops with many of the artists. Branded Arts, the Los Angeles-based organization that is sponsoring the event, has rounded up an impressive group of muralists that includes Kenny Scharf, D*Face, and Colette Miller. A public reception to close the event will be held Friday May 27 at 5 p.m.

As Los Angeles Magazine points out, Fairey’s work will not be the first mural to pay tribute to Kennedy’s legacy at the schools. In 2010, Judith Baca painted two murals honoring the Massachusetts senator in the old Ambassador ballroom—now being used by the schools as a media center.

I started a new mural in LA today. #obeygiant #shepardfairey.

A photo posted by Shepard Fairey (@obeygiant) on May 24, 2016 at 6:27pm PDT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

 
 
DMS
1 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Google+ 1 Filament.io 1 Flares ×